Running from Food

Learning to have a healthy relationship with food through the joy of running.

Week 4 Weigh-In

What a week!

It’s interesting, because this week featured both my least disciplined and most disciplined periods over the last 4 weeks.

We headed out of town last weekend for a trip with some friends to their parents’ cabin up in the mountains.

This picture doesn't do it justice.

This picture doesn’t do it justice.

Gosh, but it was beautiful up there. We spent the weekend playing games, riding snowmobiles (my first time on one) and hanging out in the hot tub. Or as the kids called it, the “hot pool.”

I challenged my 4-year-old to an impromptu “polar bear challenge,” to jump out of the hot tub and roll around in the snow (of course thinking he’d look at me with his usual “whatever, Dad” look), and he actually did it! It was definitely one of the highlights of the weekend.

carter snow

I think it was literally 0 degrees outside at the time.

Note to self: be careful what you dare your son to do.

He’ll probably do it.

Anyhoo, it was a fun weekend, but I didn’t do a great job tracking my calories.

Ok, I confess, I didn’t track them at all. While I didn’t gain a ton of weight over the weekend (maybe a pound and a half), I felt like that weight just stuck to my ribs at the beginning of the week.

I told myself when we got back on Sunday night that I had a lot of fun, but now it was time to get the work.

And I hit it hard this week with my workouts.

  • Mon – Couch to 5k Week 1, Day 1 and leg weights, a little elliptical thrown in to keep heart rate up (521 total calories burned)
  • Tue – Couch to 5k Week 3, Day 2 and arm weights, a little elliptical thrown in (513 calories)
  • Wed – 45 min on elliptical (intervals) and leg weights (728 calories)
  • Thu – Couch to 5k Week 3, Day 3 and arm weights, more elliptical, then an hour and a half of pickup basketball at night (969 calories total burned)

Not only were my workouts disciplined this week, my eating during the week was as well. I stayed on track for calories, and even avoided the dreaded “mid-week spoiler” meal on Tuesday night, when my boss took me out for dinner. I really wasn’t in the mood for salad, and a burger sounded so good.

So I ordered one.

But I ordered the “junior”, with no mayo. And I ate half of it. And maybe a third of the fries.

For me? That’s a huge win.

And the results?

Week 4 Results

Starting weight: 235.4

Ending weight: 232.4

Weight loss this week: 3 pounds

Total weight loss: 12.1 pounds

I’m stoked! 12 pounds lost in 23 days. It’s working!

And why is it working? Because I’m putting in the work.

I’m most excited about how I’m starting to really take control of my portions, even when I’m staring temptation in the face. And I’m varying up my workouts. Not just spending time running on the treadmill, but doing elliptical, weights, throwing in a little basketball for fun (and really good cardio).

Today, I’m giving my body a rest day. Then it’s back at it on Saturday.

How did you do on your goals this week?
Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Week 4 Weigh-In

  1. great job this week!

    family in town on monday and a concert on wednesday led to eating out twice (once at olive garden and once at a local sushi place). BUT, i managed to keep away from an overload of calories the remaining days and have been running and doing hot yoga so i’m actually down a pound this week! just goes to show you that sometimes you don’t feed yourself ENOUGH to lose weight. do you use myfitnesspal? i actually like that it tells you when you aren’t eating enough, makes me happy that not everyone is telling me to starve myself to lose ten pounds. 🙂

    • Thanks, Catie! Great job this week…

      I actually use MyNetDiary. It updates my remaining calories for the day as I enter in the food I’ve eaten, too.

  2. Playing hard to get Howard Hughes?

  3. Glad I found your blog (thanks to twitter)! That is hilarious that your little boy jumped into the snow! I have 2 stepsons, and have learned the same thing- don’t dare them to do anything, because they will do it!
    Great job on your weight loss so far. It absolutely does work when you put the work in!

Leave a Reply

