Running from Food

Learning to have a healthy relationship with food through the joy of running.

Overcoming Obstacles…Like 15-below-zero Obstacles

Saturday morning temps

Saturday morning temps

I live in Idaho.

Usually, that’s not a hindrance to doing the kind of physical activity I like to do.

Except in the spring when the wind is blowing 40 miles an hour. Or in the fall when we get snow in December. Or in January, when it’s -15 outside.

You think I wanted to get up on Saturday morning and go to the gym when it was -15 outside?

No, siree. But I did it anyway.

And that’s what separates “this time” from “all the other times” in the last three years.

This time I’m dedicated. This time there are no excuses.

So, today, when I’ve tried to jump my car five times, and it still won’t start for lack of heat (did you know there’s no such thing as cold, just lack of heat? See, Mr. Winters, I did learn something from 9th grade science class), I will still find a way to get to the gym and start Week 2 of Couch to 5k.

It's not for lack of trying

It’s not for lack of trying

Oh, what’s that you say? I’m on Week 2? Why yes I am…

I’m sorry, what was that? How was Week 1?

Why thank you for asking. It was splendid! Really, it was. I’m not being sarcastic. I’m so happy to be back on the treadmill (even though it’s the treadmill, and not the pavement, that’s how excited I am).

Couch to 5k Week 1

Couch to 5k Week 1

I’m having to resist the urge to push myself too hard too fast as I start my new training. I do, after all, have 6 marathons under my belt. I know how to do this. I know how to run 13.1 miles.

Or I should say my mind does. My body is not back there yet. My body never had to run 2 or 3 or 13.1 miles with an excess 60+ pounds on its frame.

So, I am where I am until I get where I’m going.

And that’s ok. Because I’ll get there.

What obstacles are you overcoming to reach your goals? Leave a comment below and tell us about it.
Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Overcoming Obstacles…Like 15-below-zero Obstacles

  1. Oh my gosh is that degrees farenheit? BRRR.

    Some obstacles I’m overcoming is time. Prioritizing it and managing it to get it all done.

    • Thanks for the comment, Carley. I hear you about the time. I’ve got two kids so it can be hard to squeeze extra minutes in the day for running/working out.

  2. I might have to check out C25k app

    • It’s a great program. I remember when my wife asked me to run a half marathon, I thought to myself “but I haven’t run more than a quarter mile straight since middle school!” Following the program helped establish the foundation I needed to build to longer and longer distances.

Leave a Reply

