Running from Food

Learning to have a healthy relationship with food through the joy of running.

Week 2 Weigh-In: It’s a Marathon, Not a Sprint

image courtesy health-transcends.tumblr.com

What a week. Between the great Famous Dave’s disaster of last Saturday (mindless eating/not counting my calories), a mix-up with my gym that kept me out until just this last Monday, it’s been a rough go. Here’s the results:

Week 2 Results

Starting weight: 238.5

Ending weight: 237

Weight loss this week: 1.5 pounds

Total weight loss: 7.5 pounds

So I tried to get to the gym last Thursday, Friday and Saturday night, but my key fob wasn’t working (I go to Anytime Fitness). I called the “help” line several times, left a few voicemails, but no luck. Then it finally occurred to me to check my bank account and, lo and behold, I discovered I hadn’t been charged in two months. A quick trip to my home gym on Monday, and my account was re-activated and I started back Tuesday morning.

So, for only three days of gym time, and a complete fiasco at Famous Dave’s on Saturday where I went absolutely overboard and at more than a day’s worth of calories in one sitting, and I’ll take a 1.5 pound weight loss.

I’m almost one week into Couch to 5k training, and I’m feeling good. The soreness in my heels is starting to go down, and I’m feeling more confident on the treadmill. I did one day of leg weights, and today at the gym I’ll do another. I start upper body tomorrow at the gym, and next week I’ll hopefully settle into a nice gym routine.

Today, I’m focused on the fact that this is a marathon, not a sprint. I may not have hit my goal this week, but there’s a lot of time to keep working hard and keep at it.

How about you? How did you do on your goals this week? Leave a comment below!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Week 2 Weigh-In: It’s a Marathon, Not a Sprint

  1. A loss is a loss man. Good for you.

    Way to stay cool with the gym being locked and going with your backup plan.

Leave a Reply

