Running from Food

Learning to have a healthy relationship with food through the joy of running.

10 Things I Won’t Do to Lose Weight

It’s easy to get obsessive about stuff. Especially when, like me, you have a bit of an obsessive personality.

I tend to go on two- or three-week spurts where I get super obsessive about something, then my focus wanes and it’s back to the same old thing.

When you get your mind set on a goal (mine is to reach my goal weight and PR a half marathon at the end of August), it can be easy to let your mind wander to all the shortcuts, all the cheats you could take to get there.

But I’m not going there this time. I’ve been down that road before, and I know all it leads to is frustration down the road.

So here’s 10 things I won’t be doing this time around.

1. I won’t starve myself to lose weight.

I’m counting calories. I have to. I eat mindlessly if I don’t. I’m reducing my calorie intake, but I’m keeping it within acceptable limits. Starving your body may help you do well on your next weigh in, but it screws with your metabolism and makes it so much easier to gain weight when you return to a “normal” lifestyle.

2. I won’t “go on a diet.”

You and I both know there are dozens, probably hundreds, of different “diets” out there. Diets that want you to eat this, not that. Diets that want you to focus on this food group and limit that food group. Sorry, but I have enough to worry about with my job, my wife, kids, paying the mortgage, making sure the lights stay on, writing a blog, keeping up on Twitter and all the other things in my life to subscribe to such a regimented eating plan.

That, and I’m making changes for life, not for the next 8 months. This is about my future, not just about the scale.

3. I won’t dehydrate myself for weigh-ins.

I’ve done this one before. Don’t drink water the day before a weigh-in and exercise a lot so you sweat. It works, but you and I both know what happens the next day: you drink 20 oz of water and gain 2 lbs. No longer will I manipulate the scale through dehydration. My weigh-ins will be genuine, and I will own them.

4. I won’t compare myself to others.

It’s hard not to be all over Twitter and see people who are doing this or doing that, people who have lost this amount of weight this week or who are running this many miles, and not feel pangs of jealousy or resentment that I’m not doing more or losing more or running more.

This is my race to run. This isn’t a competition with anyone.

5. I won’t give up the foods I love.

Sorry, it’s not happening. I know there are fitties out there who judge people like me who admit that I freaking love a good hamburger, or that I lay awake at night dreaming about a nice serving of chips and salsa. It’s who I am.

Chili's chips and salsa (AKA, my crack)

Chili’s chips and salsa (AKA, my crack)

I’m not going to magically wake up one morning and love green smoothies and tofu. Salad is never going to be my favorite main dish.

6. I won’t over indulge on my favorite foods.

I’m still going to eat them. But now, I recognize that binging is my biggest problem when it comes to weight gain. I’m learning how to do things in moderation, and eat smaller portions of the foods I love, and eat them less often.

7. I won’t let people’s comments get to my head.

The last time I lost 65 pounds, I craved the little comments I’d get from people, and toward the end, the long conversations I’d have with people about how I lost all the weight. It became a form of pride form me. Rightfully so, in some ways. I worked hard…really hard…to lose all that weight.

The problem was, when I got to where I was going, I felt like I had arrived — and could thus take a vacation. That’s how I got where I am now…with every single pound gained back.

This time, my response will be “Thanks, I have a lot more work to do.”

8. I won’t listen to the fat person inside me.

There’s a little voice in my head. You may have one too. The voice that says “All this hard work isn’t worth it.” The voice that says “Give up and go enjoy that plate of nachos you’ve been craving.” The voice that says “You’re too tired to go 5 miles. Just go 3 today.”

That voice isn’t going away. I know that. But I don’t have to listen to it.

9. I won’t walk this road alone.

There are so many people out there traveling this same journey. This time, I’m doing my best to connect with them, to ask for hope and inspiration and encouragement, and offer the same back when I have the opportunity.

10. I won’t make this about just losing weight.

It’s not about the scale. That’s just a tool to measure one aspect of progress. I’m doing this for my kids. I want them to have a healthy dad who gives them a healthy example of how to live their lives. I’m doing this for myself, to prove to myself that I can do hard things.

Is there anything you won’t do to lose weight? Leave a comment and tell me about it. Give me a follow on Twitter or Facebook while you’re at it.
Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “10 Things I Won’t Do to Lose Weight

  1. Martha Merrill Wills on said:

    You might be surprised that you one day wake and REALLY like green smoothies. My favorite is a bunch of kale, almond milk, frozen pineapple and blueberries. I also add some flax. BTW… number 10 is interesting. I’m trying hard not to weigh myself because the number on the scale has always messed with my head. I don’t know, though. I’ve been eating right for 10 days now and I’m tempted to get a read on my weight. It’s still scary.

    • LOL, Martha. I thought someone might call me out on that. I tend to be an “I’ll try anything once” kind of person, so maybe I will give a green smoothie a try some time.

      As for the scale, I hear you…I’m a slave to it. I have a post about that coming up soon…

Leave a Reply

