Running from Food

Learning to have a healthy relationship with food through the joy of running.

Week 1 Weigh-In: Measured Success

Friday is my weigh-in day. It’s always been a day that works good for me. It allows me to “cheat” a little on the weekend, and have Monday through Thursday (which have always been my most disciplined days) to make up for it.

This week was a little unusual, as it wasn’t a full week. Technically, I started on New Year’s Day.

Week 1 Results

Starting weight: 244.5

Ending weight: 238.5

Weight loss this week: 6 pounds

Total weight loss: 6 pounds

Am I happy? Of course I am.

But I’ve also been down this road before.

I guarantee most, if not all of that, is water weight. I drank a ton of soda over the holidays. I mean literally, probably almost a ton.

Between that and some binge eating that went on over the holidays, my initial weigh-in was a bit elevated. Not by much, because I had been weighing in consistently between 242 and 245 for the past month or so.

Still, I’m giving myself a small pat on the back this morning, then getting back to work. My goal is to be down to 236 by next Friday, and if you’ve ever watched the Biggest Loser, you know that Week 2 can be the toughest…it’s true, I’ve been through it myself.

The bottom line? It’s a marathon, not a sprint.

And this isn’t even the first half mile. Have to stay focused, have to stay hungry (a different kind of hungry).

Tonight is dinner out with some friends, so this will be the first real test of my willpower when it comes to food.

The plan? Order what I want to order, but eat about a quarter of what I would usually eat. And eat 100% “clean” on Saturday and Sunday.

How about you? How did you do with your fitness goals this week? Any successes or struggles you want to share? Leave a comment and tell me about them!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Week 1 Weigh-In: Measured Success

  1. Great results for your first weigh in. I would love to be around ~238. On my way.

    To answer your questions:

    How did you do with your fitness goals this week?
    So far so good. We’ll see with tomorrow’s weigh in.

    Any successes or struggles you want to share?
    Blistered my hand and bruised some muscle in my foot from over-exertion. But I’m still pushing. Mind over matter. (I still need to be a little more cautious)

Leave a Reply

