Running from Food

Learning to have a healthy relationship with food through the joy of running.

Here We Go Again

I’m really great at starting things.

Finishing? Not so much.

Seems I’ve been that way pretty much my whole life. Have grand ambitions to do something great, then I abandon my plans out of laziness, fear, lack of desire, you name it. I guess I’m no different from most people in that regard. There’s a reason why Weight Watchers and gyms spend the majority of their marketing budget at the beginning of the year. Everyone’s hopping on the New Year’s Resolution bandwagon.

But this year, it ain’t no bandwagon. This is for real. Three years ago, I started something and finally finished it. I trained for and ran my first half marathon, and lost 65 pounds in the process. I changed myself and my relationship with food. I felt like a new person.

Last Rays of Light

Then, over the course of the next three years, I slowly allowed that old, unmotivated, undisciplined, lazy person back in. And I gained all the weight back.

Every. Last. Pound.

No more. It’s time to get back on the horse. 2013 is going to be one of the hardest years ever, but it’s also going to be one of the most rewarding.

Here’s where you can follow my progress. My successes, my failures. My triumphs and frustrations. Writing has always been a catharsis for me, a way to organize the jumbled information in my brain into concrete motivation to counter act the little voice at the back of my brain telling me it’s not worth it, that it would just be easier to give up and live a life of ease and mediocrity.

So here we sit. It’s January 1, 2013. Over the course of the next 8 months, I’ll be on a mission: to get down to my goal weight of 177 pounds and run the Pocatello Half Marathon in under 1 hour, 50 minutes and set a new personal record.

It certainly won’t be easy. But it’s gonna be a wild ride.

So here we go. All over again.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Here We Go Again

  1. You got this!!

  2. Awesome! This is your year!

  3. Best of luck! I have the same issue with not finishing what I start, so I too am working on following through with all of my goals for the year. Looking forward to following your progress.

Leave a Reply

